Uploaded image for project: 'CORAL and COOL'
  1. CORAL and COOL
  2. CORALCOOL-998

Useless CORAL loops retrying to login if password is expired (ORA-28001)

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed (View Workflow)
    • Priority: High
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: None
    • Fix Version/s: 3.2.0
    • Component/s: CORAL
    • Labels:
      None

      Description

      Useless CORAL loops retrying to login if password is expired (ORA-28001).

      This has been reported by Salvatore (thanks!), originally in
      https://savannah.cern.ch/bugs/?76166#comment2

      Date: Wed, 26 Jan 2011 17:47:42 +0100
      From: Salvatore Di Guida <noreply-savannah@cern.ch>
      To: Salvatore Di Guida <salvatore.di.guida@cern.ch>,
      Andrea Valassi <Andrea.Valassi@cern.ch>,
      Giacomo Govi <giacomo.govi@cern.ch>,
      Vincenzo Innocente <vincenzo.innocente@cern.ch>,
      Alexander Kalkhof <alexander.kalkhof@cern.ch>,
      Alexander Loth <Alexander.Loth@cern.ch>,
      Raffaello Trentadue <raffaello.trentadue@cern.ch>
      Subject: [bug #76166 Review session exceptions and their use in connection
      retrial

      Follow-up Comment #2, bug #76166 (project pool):

      Dear Andrea,
      I have just found another case where CORAL does not behave correctly. When trying to connect to an account with expired password, ORACLE throws an ORA-28001; this is catched by the ORACLE session, which throws a StartSessionException, so, after a given time, it retries to log in, and so on forever. I have realized that the only authentication error you catch and rethrow, then stopping to retry, is the ORA-01017 (wrong username/password), mapped through AuthenticationFailureException. In attachment, a test executable which I used for reproducing the error...

      HTH

      Salvatore

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                kalkhof Alexander Kalkhof (Inactive)
                Reporter:
                valassi Andrea Valassi
              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                6 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved: